Plomari is the second largest town on the island, situated in the south, 42km. away from Mytilini. Originally, Plomari was called Potamos, (meaning «river»). The architectural style of the town is traditional with great mansions, narrow streets, decaying factories and olive presses. Built right on the ocean, Plomari is one of the main centers for ouzo production. On the road leading into town there is even an ouzo museum with information about its history.
Plomari has a great number of restaurants, as well as traditional coffee-places serving, what else, ouzo. Walking around the town, one can see several Turkish fountains and houses built in the Turkish architecture.
Originally, Plomari was situated up in the mountains where today stands the village of Megalochori, (10km. to the north). Both, the mountain village and the port were destroyed by the great fires between the years of 1841 and 1843.