The village was built by refugees from Eastern Thrace, in 1924, after the disaster in Asia Minor. On this location, there used to be a swamp, and a little farther, there was a monastery, named Karamani. Along with the help of the monks, houses were built and gradually the swamp was turned into fertile fields. In remembrance of the old Plagia the village was called Nea (=new) Plagia. Today about 1200 people live here.
The patron saint of this village is Saint George, whose icon was brought from the lost homeland. Next to the village there is a hill covered with pine-trees and a little church, and four kilometers away, among the ruins of the old monastery, the little church of "Zoodochos Pigi" (=life-giving source), dedicated to Virgin Mary, can be found. The village is surrounded by beautiful clean beaches, while parks with all kinds of flowers beautify the place. All kinds of shops, super-markets, confectioneries, pharmacies, taverns, cafes, cinemas, make life pleasant for both the tourists and the local people.