Evosmos is one of the municipalities in Thessaloniki that was formed and developed by the immigrants of Romylia, Eastern Thrace and Asia Minor. Situated on the northwest section of the city, the community exists since the 18th century. At that time, the grounds hosted 40- 50 families who were cultivators and farmers and the place was called Harmankiu, which literally means the place of threshing – floors. After 1922, gradually the immigrants began settling and Harmankiu was divided in two territories, the older Harmankiu, where the first community was created and the lower Harmankiu, where the immigrants were setting by hundreds. When the immigration stopped round 1924, Harmankiu was renamed to Kuklutzas and in 1955 the community took its final name Evosmos, which means place that smells wonderful. The arrival of the immigrants grew the need for development and through the years Evosmos became a modern community with trading, athletic and cultural center. The most important monument and jewel of the municipality is the temple of Agios Athanasios which is dated from the Byzantine ages and which was rebuilt with great care by the first inhabitants of the territory in 1819.